Latest News

KTM RC Cup: Wright Continues Dominance

KTM RC CUP: WRIGHT CONTINUES DOMINANCE 115-year old makes it four from four at Oulton Park

Cheshire’s Oulton Park played home to Round 2 of the 2016 Santander Consumer Finance KTM British Junior Cup this past May Bank Holiday.

Coming into the long weekend full of confidence and with the championship lead was Aaron Wright. The 15-year old from Newtownabbey dominated the opening round at Silverstone, taking pole position and two race wins.

Once again, escaping the youth series was consistent sunny and dry conditions as the 2.69-mile-long and undulating Oulton surface was repeatedly doused with rain across the three-day meeting.

Practice conditions were held in bright but full wet conditions and it was Wright who continued his dominant form to take the top spot ahead of Lewis Nicol – making a stunning debut in the series – followed by Myles Wasley and Jack Nixon.

Dry weather finally greeted the junior riders and their KTM RC 390 machines for Qualifying where Wright and his machine continued their form for pole position, with Round 1 podium finishers Tom Airey and T.Fox Moreton completing the front row.

Sunday’s Race would be held in full wet conditions and it wasn’t all plain sailing for Wright as series ‘Rookie’ Lewis Nicol shot to the front, the young Scot clearly revelling in the rain. Sadly, it wasn’t to last as he crashed unhurt on lap 2 to set up a battle between Wright and Wasley – both of whom competed in the 2015 series. Myles, riding the no.8 Aqua Construction Racing machine, eventually crossed the line just 0.567 seconds behind Aaron.

Monday would stage Race 4 of the 20-race series and a repeat in conditions. Making it four from four would be Wright; mastering the situation majestically to win by just under 20 seconds from Caleb Smith – making his RC Cup podium debut in second, followed closely by Tom Airey with another consistent performance.

The Santander Consumer Finance KTM British Junior Cup continues at Brands Hatch on May 20-22 for Round 3.

KTM RC Cup – Standings after Round 2 of 8 

  1. Aaron Wright – 100
  2. Taylor Fox Moreton – 51
  3. Tom Airey – 46
  4. Will Lathrope – 45
  5. Danny Bojko – 42
  6. Scott Swann – 34
  7. Caleb Smith – 34
  8. Myles Wasley – 31
  9. Jack Nixon – 29
  10. Reece Guyett – 16

Leave a Comment