Federico Caricasulo takes first Tissot-Superpole of 2019 ahead of Krummenacher

Federico Caricasulo takes first Tissot-Superpole of 2019 ahead of Krummenacher 1
The first WorldSSP Tissot Superpole went to Italian rider Federico Caricasulo (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team), who put in a fantastic lap time with two minutes to go. Teammate Randy Krummenacher was leading much of the session but was pipped by Caricasulo, whilst also left the pit lane too late to respond. The BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team have been the dominant force in the World Supersport Championship throughout testing and the opening two days of the Yamaha Finance Australian Round. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) put in a good performance, the former WorldSSP Championship runner-up coming home in third position.

Raffaele De Rosa (MV AGUSTA Reparto Corse) heads up the second row whilst teammate Federico Fuligni was impressive in his debut Tissot Superpole session, finishing fifth. Completing row two was Thomas Gradinger (Kallio Racing), who showed much promise in the Free Practice sessions but couldn’t capitalise on his pace when it counted.

Starting at the head of row three is Rookie, Hector Barbera (Team Toth by Willirace). The Spaniard having a slight altercation with Randy Krummenacher on circuit in the closing five minutes. Hikari Okubo (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) finished in eighth whilst completing the third row was 2017 WorldSSP Champion, Lucas Mahias (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing).

Estonian rider Hannes Soomer (MPM WILSport Racedays) completed the top ten, making it all four manufacturers inside the top ten for the 16 lap, flag-to-flag encounter on Sunday.

Pole position – Federico Caricasulo (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team)
“It has been a very good race weekend for us so far. We did a good qualifying and I am quite satisfied with my lap time. But what really matters is to be ready for the race tomorrow. We worked a lot during the test and yesterday to increase the tyre life and we’ve been practicing a lot the flag-to-flag. It will not be an easy weekend for anybody. But I think that we are ready for tomorrow.”

#AUSWorldSBK WorldSSP at Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit:
Tissot Superpole
1. Federico Caricasulo (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team)
2. Randy Krummenacher (BARDAHL Evan Bros. WorldSSP Team) +0.079
3. Jules Cluzel (GMT94 Yamaha) +0.539

World Superbike
[g-slider gid=”52711″ width=”100%” height=”65%”]

Grid Girls Gallery by Grid Girls UK
[g-slider gid=”52690″ width=”100%” height=“75%” autoplay=”1″]


Previous articleWorldSBK TV coverage reaches new heights for 2019
Next articleDominant Alvaro Bautista wins WorldSBK Race One on his debut