Biker T-Shirts UK

Green Day continued at the Manx Grand Prix as riders from the Emerald Isle completed a lock out of the top step of the podium. Andrew Farrell was rewarded for his dedication by winning the Lightweight (SuperTwins) Race; whilst Darryl Tweed dominated the concurrently run Ultra Lightweight race. Due to the time lost in weather delays the Lightweight was cut to 3 laps to match the distance of the Ultra Lightweight.

The fastest qualifier for the Lightweight; Spain’s Victor Lopez Santos on the Martimotos Kawasaki had the honour of being first away. Second in practice and last year’s runner-up Andrew Farrell was the greyhound chasing the yellow hare in front. At Glen Helen; the winner of the Junior Race, James Chawke, was the leader of the race, the Paton mounted rider had an advantage of 0.3s over Andrew Farrell. Gary Vines who was riding a 250cc TZ250 Yamaha was third 1.6s down on Vines; but in turn was 2.5s ahead of Lopez Santos. At Ramsey, Chawke had an increased lead of 2.4s; but Farrell now leading on the road set about turning the tables. At The Bungalow the lead for Chawke was down to .6s. Farrell was the fastest on the descent and with a lap at 114.060mph he led by 3.08s from Chawke (113.766mph); with Vines (113.660mph) just another 1.12s adrift. Lopez Santos, David Lumsden and Dave Butler completed the leader board.

James Chawke.

For Lopez Santos the race was soon over; he had to park his machine at Greeba Bridge. As on lap 1, Chawke was fastest on the run to Ramsey and had cut Farrell’s lead to just 0.4s as they swept through the Gooseneck. The Kawasaki was again faster on the mountain section allowing Farrell to enter the pits with a lead of 7.9s. Vines did not make it to his pit stop; he retired at the ££rd Milestone. His demise moved Lumsden into the final podium position. Butler, Gareth Evans and Dave Quine completed the leader board.

David Lumsden.

The pit stops all but ended Chawke’s chances; he lost over 8s to his rival and was 20s down at Glen Helen with less than 30 miles to go. Farrell rode to his boards and came home to take an emotional win by 15.3s from Chawke. David Lumsden secured third; another podium finish for long time sponsor Martin Bullock. Butler, Evans and Chris Moore completed the leader board; a slowing Dave Quine came home 8th.

Ultra Lightweight winner Darryl Tweed.

In the Ultra Lightweight Race, Ballymoney’s Darryl Tweed took the lead from the start; he was already 11s clear at Glen Helen on lap 1 and had increased that to 23.9s by the end of the lap. Tweed rode away from his rivals and won by 68.3s. Sinclair was second at Glen Helen on lap 1; with Daniel Ingham 5s behind him. They matched each other over the remainder of the lap; Sinclair having an advantage of 5.3s as they began their second lap. Ingham chipped away at the gap as the lap progressed and he was just 0.3s down as they entered the pits for their splash and dash stop. Ingham’s stop was the better and he had an advantage of 8s at Glen Helen on the final lap. They matched each other for the final 29 miles; Ingham taking second place by 8.7s.

Daniel Ingham.
Alex Sinclair.


MGP Supporters’ Club Lightweight Race

  1. Andrew Farrell               JFR Kawasaki                      112.818mph
  2. James Chawke              Coverdale Paton                   112.343mph
  3. David Lumsden             Bullock Kawsaki                   111.819mph

MGP Supporters’ Club Ultra Lightweight Race

  1. Darryl Tweed                M&D Kawasaki                    105.587mph
  2. Daniel Ingham              Jones Honda                       103.751mph
  3. Alex Sinclair                 CSC Yamaha                       103.521mph